Jo Linsdell and her virtual book tour how to.

1779508_10152969089505942_1888558981_n1616490_10152969091255942_2052336748_nThis shed on this wharf has been blessed to have had world class talent sit on our milk crates and drink our beverages while remaining graceful as they are hassled by my Back of The Shed Gang. Jo Linsdell is not only “easy on the lookers” according to de b’ys, but an international best seller and super talented and gracious. Jo didn’t write a book about vampires, werewolves or witches(that’s okay me dear we still luvs ya!) instead she wrote a book that teaches the rest of us how to jump aboard the Virtual book tour boat and do it successfully and with ease.

Welcome, Jo have a seat, sorry that it is not more comfy, but a poor fishing season has forced me to reduce my furniture  to two milk crates, but I have plenty of refreshments, care to have one?

A cup of tea would be great. It’s my favourite drink. Black tea, milk, two sugars… can’t beat it 🙂

 Thank you for coming Jo though I have known you for years, this yahoos are unfamiliar with you, share a little about yourself.

I’m originally from the UK but moved to Rome, Italy in 2001 where I live with my Italian husband and our two young sons. Although I’ve been writing pretty much since I could hold a pen, I officially became a writer in 2006 and since have published several international best sellers in a variety of genres and written for numerous publications and websites around the world. In addition to writing my own books I also work for hire as an illustrator.

 I have seen Virtual Book Tours. Effective Online Book Promotion From the Comfort of Your Own Home on Amazon and I would love to pick it up, but before I do, could you tell me a little about it?

As soon as I heard about virtual book tours I was sold on the idea. It was the perfect solution for me. I’m from the UK and write predominately in English but live in Italy. My target readers are in other countries and so being able to reach them through the internet has, to a large extent, made my writing career possible. I’ve done many virtual book tours and with each one I learn something new. In this book I share my experience with you and take you through everything you need to know to be able to set up and carry out a successful virtual book tour. 

The book is divided into 4 main sections for easy navigation:
1) What is a Virtual Book Tour?

2) How to organise your own tour

3) Promoting a tour

4) Useful resources

You’ll find it packed with links, tips, and advice to help make your tour a hit.

Wow, Virtual Book Tours. Effective Online Book Promotion From the Comfort of Your Own Home sounds intriguing, is there a particular part of the book that you really enjoyed writing?

I love doing virtual book tours and they have proved to be one of my most successful marketing strategies. I also love social media and so the part I enjoyed most was the chapter on the types of stops you can include in a virtual book tour. There are so many options now. It’s not just about blog stops anymore.

When you write, what is it that you hope your readers take away from your book?

Virtual Book Tours: Effective Online Book Promotion From the Comfort of Your Own Home is designed to give you all the information you need to be able to organize and carry out your own virtual book tour. As with all marketing efforts the results will be different for each person and book. With this book I hope to have given you a step by step process of what you can do and how to do it, and supplied you with some ideas to get you started.

Do you have any other books you are currently writing or are planning to write?

I’m currently working on getting my new children’s picture story book “The Box” ready for publication, a non-fiction “How to be Twittertastic” ready for release this Spring, and doing edits of my novels “Vengeance”  and “Twice”.

Thanks a million for answering all my questions, Jo it has been a real pleasure. As I said before, I have seen Virtual Book Tours: Effective Online Book Promotion From the Comfort of Your Own Home online at Amazon is there anywhere else your book is available and what formats?

All my books are available in both print and e-formats and can be found at all major bookstores (or ordered by those that don’t currently have them in stock ;)).

You must be frozen solid by now, Jo, my mates have been pretty greedy with the heat, so I am going to let you go so you can toddle on home and warm up, but before you go is there anything else you want to add?

Amongst other things I also organise an annual online event for writing and marketing professionals called Promo Day. This year it takes place on Saturday 31st May at www.PromoDay.info. It’s an all day event and packed full of opportunities to promote, network, and learn. The event is completely free to attend and open to everyone. I hope you can all come and join in the fun.

Thank you for having me here today and for letting me share about my books. If anyone has any questions for me please drop them in a comment below and I’ll get back to you.

If you’d like to find out more about me and what I do please visit my website www.JoLinsdell.com or connect with me via social media (I’m everywhere – you’ll find all the links on my website;)).

 

2 comments

  1. Jo Linsdell · February 12, 2014

    Thanks again for having me here Tina.

    • tinasdestiny · February 12, 2014

      Thank you Jo! You are most welcome and you are welcome here always!

Leave a Reply

