A Dream come true: Interview with Kirstin Pulioff

Dreamscape_Final

“Lord Dine Jaysus what the f** is wrong with that missus? Her eyes are a glowin!”

Chirps Frank as he stares at the large poster on the shed wall.

“There’s nothing wrong with the girl, Frank,” I assure him. “That’s just a special effect for the cover of my guest’s new novel. Pretty cool, eh?”

“Oh, that’s alright then. I nearly shat me pants.”

Frank adjusts his cap, swipes another cool one out of the fridge and saunters to the back of the shed to chime on the latest gossip of our quaint, hideaway village. I run around making the final touches for our latest guest, Kirstin Pulioff, author of the new YA novel, Dreamscape: Saving Alex. I make sure that a variety of beverages are ready, that the heat is at a reasonable level so she will not freeze or cook and put a cushion on the milk crate I reserve for my author guests.

I just straightened my unruly curls when a knock comes on the door. I open it and sure it enough it’s our beautiful and talented guest.

Welcome, Kirstin, have a seat, sorry that it is not more comfy, but a poor fishing season has forced me to reduce my furniture to two milk crates, but I have plenty of refreshments, care to have one?

No worries, I work with Kindergartners all day, so I’m used to being low to the ground. Do you have any coffee? Black—no sugar. Thanks.

I retrieve a mug, which proudly displays a Newfoundland flag and pour fresh, hot coffee to the brim and pass it to Kirstin.

Thank you for coming Kirstin, though I have known you for years, these yahoos are unfamiliar with you, share a little about yourself. 

I know! How in the world has it taken me so long to get over to the wharf? Thank you for having me here. As for you friends…I don’t know if they can take the truth about me. *wink wink*
I dream big, wish on stars, search for rainbows, find reassure in everyday blessings, and live life to the fullest… and when I have a spare moment, I am busy writing.
I live in the foothills of Colorado mountains with my husband and two kids. Come to think of it, maybe that’s why it took me so long to get here… it’s a long way from Colorado to the wharf.

That’s our fault, I sent Gerard to pick you up in his long liner six months ago and he hasn’t been seen since. Oh, well, that’s them breaks. Back to the inquires.

I have seen Dreamscape: Saving Alex on Amazon and your website and I would love to pick it up, but before I do, could you tell me a little about it?

Absolutely! Dreamscape: Saving Alex is a YA contemporary novel that blends the lines between fantasy and science fiction. In this novel, you’ll experience Alex’s adventure as she fights her way through a video game, discovering how to love and how to let go. Inspired by my own marathon gaming nights of SMB3 and Zelda, this novel is fun, fast-paced, and teeming with elements of gaming, adventure, and romance.
But here’s the official blurb:
Sixteen-year-old Alexis Stone is used to getting away from life’s frustration with Dreamscape, a video game she’s loved since childhood. As her family prepares to move, a sleepy night of gaming pulls her into the world like never before. Trapped in Dreamscape’s realm, Alex is about to learn that being a hero has consequences… and this time, the stakes are deadly. Will helping the rebellion cost her everything she knows and loves? Or will she betray them to save her own life?

Wow, Kirstin sounds intriguing, is there a particular part of the story that you really enjoyed writing?

The whole book was a hoot to write, but something I really enjoyed was diving into the first person perspective. All my previous work has been third person, so that was new for me…and I LOVED it. It truly helped me get into my characters head and re-live those moments from my childhood.

Jack, our most boisterous member of the Back of The Shed Gang has since found himself a girlfriend which had mellowed him but that’s only when she’s around. Today Bev is working so Jack is free to be his usual self. From the back of the shed he yells,  Hey dude, tell us who your favourite characters are!

haha, no need to interrupt Jack. I am happy to answer all your questions. My favorite character? Ooohhh… that’s a toughie. I really have to admit, my favorite is Alex, but I have a soft spot for Arrow. He’s definitely swoon worthy.

 Sorry about that, but Jack’s question brought another question to light, “If Dreamscape: Saving Alex were to be optioned for a movie, who do you see playing your main characters?

Now we’re talking. I could dream about this all day! I would have to say that Alex would be played by Willow Shields… and Arrow would be a real life Flynn Rider. ha. The funny part is that since this book is FULL of 80’s and 90’s nostalgia, when I originally envisioned my characters I saw a young Kristen Dunst and Rider Strong.

They will be perfect, Kirstin I could really see those actors playing those part. I was wondering, as a person who writes on the side, during my down time, my writing process starts with forming the story in my head before I put pen to paper, what is your writing process like?

You know they say great minds think alike…and we’re the same. I am definitely a planner. Before I sit down to write the story, I have to outline the entire novel, chapter by chapter. Things may change as I actually write it, but I do need to have a plan, know where the twists are, and the order that events need to take place.

Terrance had a long night of heavy partying and is suffering a mother of a hangover, so I thought we’d be safe from his interrupting and tomfoolery, but no such luck. Though he is carrying a non-alcoholic beer, he still manages to trip over a loose floor plank and land squarely on Kirstin, drowning her in beer. Oh Lord, save me!

Sorry ’bout that, sugar but I haves a question. All of this sounds fascinating but I heard writing is a hell of a lot of work, why do you do it, what do you get out of it?

Geez Terrance. Are you okay? *Helping him up and shaking off the extra liquid from my arm*
You’re right… writing is hard. When it comes down to it though, it is part of me. Before I started writing professionally, I had a couple of other jobs—working in forestry, office jobs, insurance… but in each one, I felt something missing. I was creatively deprived, and needed to do something about it. Since making that decision, 12 years ago, I have vowed to make writing a priority in my life.
It’s not about the money, or the reviews, although those are always great. It’s about sharing my stories and connecting with readers.

Thanks for the awkward segue, Terrance, now go over with the rest of the b’ys and let me and Kirstin have our yarn. Terrance asked you why you like to write, now I want to ask you, is there anything about writing you don’t like?

Oh yeah… the balance. It would be nice if all I had to do was write, but it’s not. I have an active family, and a career working in literary enrichment at my kid’s school. My days are filled with work, my evenings and weekends with family… so writing is regulated to late nights or early mornings. I wish I knew how to balance it all… but I’m still working on it. So far coffee has been my only solution…

When you write, what is it that you hope your readers take away from your story?

My books are meant to be read and enjoyed. There are a few lessons and themes, but overall they are fun stories filled with action and adventure… and a little romance. Some people write to change the world… but not me. ha.

Do you have any other stories you are currently writing or are planing to write?

I do. I am currently working on Pale Bricks, which is the full length novel surrounding Simone from my short story The Ivory Tower. It’s a dystopian, and the most political of any of my books. I’ve just past 55,000 words, and hoping to have it ready for you by the end of the year. You know how it goes though. ☺

Thanks a million for answering all my questions…and the others, Kirstin, it has been a real pleasure. As I said before, I have seen Dreamscape: Saving Alex online at Amazon is there anywhere else your book is available and what formats?

Right now, it’s only available in Amazon, but in both print and digital formats. Mid July it will be available on nook and other formats. And if you or anyone ever needs a personalized copy, just drop me a note through my website. www.kirstinpulioff.com

You must be frozen solid by now, Kirstin, my mates have been pretty greedy with the heat, so I am going to let you go so you can toddle on home and warm up, but before you go is there anything else you want to add?

You’re right it is pretty cold out here… coffee and all. Thank you for having me here today. If you’re ever in my neck of the woods, I’ll return the favor, although I don’t have such fun friends… just a lot of elk and other wildlife. 🙂
Feel free to connect with me over on facebook: www.facebook.com/kirstinpulioffauthor, or twitter @KirstinPulioff

Leave a Reply

